This blog is about what road I'm on and my journey in getting there. Maybe with a little work, I'll end up in paradise.

Dear General Motors

I’m shopping for a car.  I decided on the following priorities. 

1.  The new car must get great gas mileage.

2.  I need some space. I’m changing jobs, and I think I’m going to be lugging large items, well not really big items, back and forth from a few states.  I have a Chevrolet Equinox and that space is fine for me.

3.  I want an American made car; preferably General Motors. I believe the United States has the technology and the ability to overcome our energy crisis.  So I’ve chosen to be faithful and buy an American made car.

4.  I’d like four wheel or all wheel drive, so I can travel in the snow.  I live in the north east and have tried the front wheel vehicles, they just aren’t that good in the snow.  I’ll settle if I have to for a front wheel vehicle but it would have to have some sort of assistance so I can get up my driveway!

I can’t seem to find a vehicle that gets more than 23 miles to the gallon on the highway.  I’ve checked out the Saturn Vue, and it’s coming along, especially the Green Line, but I can’t seem to find another vehicle that’s worth spending the money on and it’s not all wheel drive.  I looked at the Ford Escape but they haven’t kept up with design, I just don’t think they’ll be good resellers.  Designs are already changing and that version will be really old by the time I sell.

So Dear General Motors, are you coming out with anything that will wow the world?  I’ll wait for the right car, but are you working on this?  Or am I going to have to buy a car made in another country?

2 responses

  1. Adam Denison

    Well, I think most of our cars are pretty awesome, but I guess I’m biased as a GM employee.

    When are you looking to buy? You mentioned the Saturn Vue. It also comes in a hybrid version which 25 MPG in the city and 32 on the highway. Later this year the Saturn Vue Greenline Two-Mode Hybrid will come out and it will have even better gas mileage.

    As for cars that will “wow the world,” have you heard about the Chevy Volt? It’s not out yet, but you can learn more about it and at chevrolet.com/electriccar

    Does this help? Hope I don’t sound like a salesman! Shoot me an e-mail if you hae ?’s.

    February 26, 2008 at 5:42 pm

  2. singellis

    Holy cow, someone answered my dear GM letter! I’m very pleased. As far as the Vue Green line, I looked at one this weekend. I was led to believe that the hybrid is not going be that much different in gas mileage compared to a regular Vue. In the brochure it says the gas mileage is to be determined. On website it says an estimated gas mileage of 25-32. That’s good mileage, I’d like GM to be a little more sure about that though.

    Rest assured Adam, I will be checking out the Two-Mode Hybrid. I haven’t completely given up on the Vue, just wondering if there are any other choices and if there was something GM was coming out with.

    I can’t help but think that GM is going to be the one with the break through.

    February 26, 2008 at 10:53 pm

Leave a Reply

