This blog is about what road I'm on and my journey in getting there. Maybe with a little work, I'll end up in paradise.

Looking into What We Don’t See

I love photographing something obvious and finding something I didn’t see after I download into my computer.  I saw this peony in June or July of last summer, it was beautiful, but not as beautiful when I looked at the bigger picture. It had rained,and it was pink.  What I didn’t see was the yellow, the bubbles, and the flawlessness of the aging process.

Oh how the beauty in aging is almost always overlooked.

2 responses

  1. I puzzle over this one Sandy, for a couple of reasons. I see the beauty of aging in other people and feel pleasure. So natural and real and often lovely. Yet when I see signs of aging in myself I feel panic clawing at the edges of my consciousness. I’m still figuring out how to deal with this.

    My other puzzle, is how do we honour the aging? I want to respect old people and learn from their learning and wisdom (those who have worthwhile learning and wisdom to impart!)… but society is not really set up to do that here. We tuck them away in homes where their physical needs are well met, but we cannot so easily access their life experience. I’m still figuring out how to honour them.

    January 22, 2010 at 9:55 pm

  2. singellis

    I know just what you mean Cecily. The beauty of aging seems meaningless with us humans. And when it comes to ourselves aging, I think it’s more of the reality that we are getting closer to leaving this world. A mourning process perhaps.

    As far as the old and wise, I appreciate them now more than ever. After visiting my mom every week in the nursing home, I realize how much she has left to tell. Listening is the best gift to give her.

    February 4, 2010 at 9:58 pm

Leave a Reply

